• Bookies
  • NFL
  • NFL Picks
  • NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds 2019-2020

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds 2019-2020

Geoff Mosher for Bookies.com

Geoff Mosher  | 4 mins

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds 2019-2020

NFL Offensive Player of the Year is, once again, shaping up to be a race between quarterbacks, with Kansas City Chiefs QB Patrick Mahomes against Super Bowl champion quarterback Russell Wilson of the Seattle Seahawks. Carolina Panthers multipurpose running back Christian McCaffrey could elbow his way into the conversation.

Top Candidates for NFL Offensive Player of the Year

The award generally goes to the NFL’s top quarterback or to settle a tie, with the other winning MVP . Running backs are also known to occasionally crash the quarterback party. Six of the past 10 winners have played quarterback, with the other four going to a running back. Not since 1993 has the award gone to someone who didn’t play quarterback or running back. Hall of Fame wide receiver Jerry Rice of the 49ers, who won the honor in 1987 and 1993, is the only non-quarterback to win the award since it was introduced in 1972.

Mahomes An Early Favorite

Patrick Mahomes, a third-year pro, won Offensive Player of the Year last year when he led the NFL with 50 touchdown passes in his first season as a starter, along with completing 66 percent of his passes and finishing with a 113.8 passer rating. He became just the league’s third player ever to pass for 50 touchdowns, joining Peyton Manning (55) and Tom Brady (50). He got off to another strong start in 2019.

Wilson Puts Up Big Numbers

Russell Wilson, who led the Seahawks to back-to-back Super Bowls in 2014 and 2015, is one of the league’s most consistent performers and often a one-man show whose running and throwing acumen confounds defenses. He has the second-highest all-time career passer rating behind Aaron Rodgers and opened the season with 14 touchdowns to no interceptions.

Look Out for a Running Back

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds 2019-2020 1

If both quarterbacks stumble, the door would open for Christian McCaffrey, who had almost totaled 1,000 yards by the end of Week 6 and gets more touches than any other skill position player in the game. McCaffrey placed third in 2018 with 1,965 total offensive yards, behind Saquon Barkley and Ezekiel Elliott.

What About Tom Brady?

Patriots quarterback Tom Brady’s passer rating is uncharacteristically low and he’s not leading the league in any major categories through the early stretch of the season. The winner of six Super Bowls can garner plenty of votes by leading New England to an undefeated season for the second time in his career. He and the Pats play in the NFL’s lousiest division, so another unbeaten season isn’t far-fetched.

Could Jackson Crash the Party?

Ravens multidimensional quarterback Lamar Jackson is tearing up the league this season and someone fans of NFL betting should keep an eye on. He might be a newer – and possibly better – version of Michael Vick and has Baltimore in the mix to win the NFC North in his first full season as the starter. If he can lead Baltimore to a top-two seed, Jackson could vault into the running for the OPOY award.

Check out latest free: NFL expert picks

Our Pick for the 2019-20 NFL Offensive Player of the Year

We’re going with Mahomes to become the first quarterback in league history to repeat as Offensive Player of the Year.

Mahomes has clear advantages over Wilson in surrounding weapons, offensive philosophy of his team and in schedule strength. The Chiefs have welcomed back Tyreek Hill, who missed several games from a collarbone injury, giving Mahomes an elite deep threat to go along with All-Pro tight end Travis Kelce and dynamic wideouts Sammy Watkins, Demarcus Robinson and rookie Mecole Hardman.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year Odds 2019-2020 2

Chiefs coach Andy Reid, one of the league’s premier offensive minds, is also one of the NFL’s most trigger-happy coaches. Mahomes is the best quarterback he’s ever coached, and Reid is all too happy to open the playbook for him.

The last four Offensive Player of the Year winners have all come from the team that finished No. 1 in scoring that season – Mahomes (2018), Todd Gurley (2017), Matt Ryan (2016), Cam Newton (2015) – and the Chiefs are a good bet to finish as the league’s top scoring offense again.

Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott isn’t high on the odds list but is a good darkhorse to win Offensive Player of the Year. He’s on his way to a career best in passing yards, touchdowns and QBR and has Dallas looking to repeat as NFC East champs.

NFL Offensive Player of the Year FAQs

Who Has Won Back To Back OPOY Awards?

Only two players have won consecutive Offensive Player of the Year awards, and both actually won the award three straight seasons. Houston Oilers running back Earl Campbell won it from 1978-1980 and Rams running back Marshall Faulk won from 1999-2001.

Which Position Has The Most OPOY Awards?

Running backs have taken home the award 26 times, followed by quarterbacks (20) and wide receivers (2).

Who Won the NFL OPOY in 2018?

Chiefs quarterback Patrick Mahomes won the award in 2018. He led the NFL in touchdown passes (50) and QBR (80.4). His 113.8 passer rating was second only to Drew Brees’ 115.7. He placed second in the league with 5,097 passing yards, 32 yards behind to Ben Roethlisberger’s 5,129.

About the Author

Geoff Mosher for Bookies.com
Geoff Mosher
Geoff Mosher writes about the Eagles, 76ers and the NFL for Bookies.com. He is an award-winning sports reporter and radio and TV personality with over 25 seasons.