NFL MVP Odds 2019

The 2019 NFL season is here and underway which only means one thing; NFL futures bets are back. One of the most popular (and most fun) futures bets is betting on the Most Valuable Player for a given season. Let’s take a look at some MVP trends, odds and FAQs.

NFL MVP Betting Trends

Over the last several years, quarterbacks have dominated the MVP award, winning in six straight seasons. Only three non-quarterbacks (Shaun Alexander, LaDainian Tomlinson and Adrian Peterson) have won the award since 2001. Typically, for a player to win the award, they need to have outstanding individual success and team success.

For instance, Adrian Peterson is the only MVP winner since 2001 whose team did not win at least 11 games (the Vikings won 10 games in 2012). The stars have to align perfectly for a player to win MVP and that is even truer for a non-quarterback.

Can QB Patrick Mahomes repeat in 2019?

The favorite to win the award is reigning MVP Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs. With Andy Reid as his head coach, Mahomes is in a dream situation with talent all around him and a coaching staff that can maximize his ability.

Given that Kansas City is projected to be one of the AFC’s best teams this season, it’s not hard to envision a scenario in which Mahomes leads Kansas City to a 12-4, 13-3 season and wins the award once again.

Tom Brady +600 to Win 2019 NFL MVP

If you believe that Mahomes won't win the award for the second season in a row, there are several other quality bets on the board. Tom Brady at +800 is intriguing as he is playing with arguably the most talented roster in the NFL. If Brady can lead the Patriots to a 13-3, 14-2 record in the AFC, don't be surprised if he wins his fourth MVP award.

That might not be that difficult for Brady considering he will be throwing the ball to Josh Gordon, Julian Edelman and Antonio Brown this season. Look for Brady to approach 35+ touchdowns in 2019.

Carson Wentz +1200 to Win NFL MVP

Another player who is considered a favorite to win the award is Carson Wentz of the Philadelphia Eagles. Whenever Wentz is on the field, he puts up monster numbers with the Eagles. We've already what kind of potential Wentz has in this Eagles offense as he threw for 33 touchdowns in 13 games in 2017.

If it weren't for a knee injury that caused him to miss the final three games of the season, he would likely have gone on to win the award. Wentz has 40+ touchdown potential with the Eagles this season, and there is some value here on him to win the award at +1000.

QB Jared Goff +3000 to Win NFL MVP

A darkhorse candidate to win the award this season is Rams’ passer Jared Goff. Much like Mahomes and Brady, Goff is playing on a loaded roster that is poised to make another run at the Super Bowl. With Sean McVay as his head coach and several Pro Bowl weapons at his disposal, Goff at +3300 is a solid bet. If the Rams can clinch the No. 1 seed in the NFC this season, Goff will undoubtedly get some MVP buzz.


Who is the youngest player to win the NFL MVP Award?

QB Patrick Mahones (23) was the youngest player to win the NFL MVP award. He won the award after leading the Chiefs to a 12-4 record in 2018 while throwing for 5,097 yards and 50 touchdowns. 2018 was Mahomes’ first full year starting for the Kansas City Chiefs.

Can a rookie win MVP?

Yes. Running back Jim Brown won the award in 1957 as a rookie for the Cleveland Browns. Brown was the No. 6 pick in the 1957 draft by the Cleveland Browns and went on to make nine Pro Bowls during his run in the NFL.

Who won the NFL MVP in 2018?

Here is a list of the 10 previous winners of the NFL MVP award:

  • 2018: QB Patrick Mahomes, Kansas City Chiefs | 5,097 passing yards, 50 TDs
  • 2017: QB Tom Brady, New England Patriots | 4,577 passing yards, 32 TDs
  • 2016: QB Matt Ryan, Atlanta Falcons | 4,944 passing yards, 38 TDs
  • 2015: QB Cam Newton, Carolina Panthers | 3,837 passing yards, 35 TDs
  • 2014: QB Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers | 4,381 passing yards, 38 TDs
  • 2013: QB Peyton Manning, Denver Broncos | 5,477 passing yards, 55 TDs
  • 2012: RB Adrian Peterson, Minnesota Vikings | 2,097 rushing yards, 12 TDs
  • 2011: QB Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay Packers | 4,643 passing yards, 45 TDs
  • 2010: QB Tom Brady, New England Patriots | 3,900 passing yards, 36 TDs
  • 2009: QB Peyton Manning, Indianapolis Colts | 4,500 passing yards, 33 TDs

Who has won the most NFL MVPs?

QB Peyton Manning has won the NFL MVP award five times (2003, 2004, 2008, 2009, 2013).

Has anyone ever won NFL MVP and Rookie of the Year?

Yes. Running back Jim Brown was named the NFL MVP and the Rookie of the Year in 1957 after rushing for 942 yards and nine touchdowns in 12 games with the Browns.

Who won the first NFL MVP award?

Running back Jim Brown was the first-ever Associated Press NFL MVP award winner in 1957. He went on to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

Which position has won the most NFL MVP awards?

Quarterbacks have won the award in 38 of 57 seasons. The position with the next most MVP awards is at running back (16). Only two defenders (Alan Page, 1971 and Lawrence Taylor, 1986) have ever won the award, and one special teams player (Mark Moseley, 1982) has ever received the award.

Which teams have the most NFL MVP winners?

NFL TeamNumber of MVP WinnersLast MVP Winner
Indianapolis Colts8.5Peyton Manning (2009)
Green Bay Packers7.5Aaron Rodgers (2014)
San Francisco 49ers5Steve Young (1994)
Cleveland Browns4Brian Sipe (1980)
LA/St. Louis Rams4Kurt Warner (2001)

Which teams don’t have any NFL MVP winners?

Arizona Cardinals, Baltimore Ravens, Houston Texans, Jacksonville Jaguars, New Orleans Saints, New York Jets and Tampa Bay Buccaneers.